Location: 135 Roche Street, opposite the Waipa District Council building and next to the library.
Opening Hours :
10am to 4pm weekdays
10am to 1pm Saturdays
1pm to 4pm Sundays and public holidays
Closed Christmas & Boxing Day, New Years Day & 2nd January and Good Friday.
Admission: Free, but we really appreciate a koha.
Explore the history and stories of Te Awamutu through a range of permanent and temporary exhibitions. Highlights include 'True Colours', an exhibition that tells the story of Tim and Neil Finn, known as Split Enz and Crowded House and features rare Finn family memorabilia and film footage.
The Tangata Whenua Gallery features many spectacular treasures, but most cherished of all is Uenuku, the Tainui taonga that was featured in the 'Te Maori' exhibition.
The turbulence of the Waikato Wars is explored in our exhibition 'NZ Wars - the Waikato campaign'.
Te Awamutu Museum has a full education service and is a registered archival repository. Our research room is open by appointment, these can be arranged by phone or by emailing us at the address above.
The museum began in 1935 in Gifford's Building in Alexandra Street, and for many years was administered by the Te Awamutu Historical Society. In 1954, after a community project by the Te Awamutu Jaycees, the first museum building was opened by the Governor General Sir Willoughby Norrie. This was the first museum in the Waikato and won a community service award for the Jaycees. The Te Awamutu Borough Council included a museum building in stage two of their civic complex, and this building was opened in 1976.
See videos of museum events at TATV.